War begins as Edo lawmakers impeach Speaker, Deputy

War begins as Edo lawmakers impeach Speaker, Deputy

Edo State House of As­sembly yesterday premises turns a theatre of war after the lawmakers of the said house impeached the Speaker and the deputy Speaker respectively. This was after the Speaker, Hon Vic­tor Edoror and the Deputy Speaker, Hon Bright Osayande were impeached by 16 out of the 24 mem­bers of the House.

Hon Edoror repre­sented the All Pro­gressives Congress (APC) Esan Central Constituency while Hon Osayande rep­resented Ovia South West.

Crisis broke out immediately as thugs in their hun­dred took over the assembly when the members elected the first female Speaker, Hon Ativie Eliza­beth, who repre­sents Uhunmwonde Constituency in the House. The situation, however, made secu­rity operatives to im­mediately take over control of the assem­bly’s premises as staff ran for their dear life.

The impeachment motion which was moved by the Major­ity Leader, Hon Folly Ogedengbe, of APC Owan-East was sec­onded by Hon Pat­rick Illuobe of the People’s Democratic Party from Esan-North East.

Ogedengbe then nominated Illuobe to preside over the elec­tion who thereafter called for nominations for a new speak­er and deputy. Then Ativie’s name was submitted as Speaker by Hon Victor Asein, APC- Owan-East, while Mr Justin Oko­nobo, APC- Igueben was nominated as Deputy Speaker by Henry Okhuarobo, APC- Orhionmwon.

Addressing jour­nalists after the im­peachment saga, the new Speaker Hon Mrs Ativie said mem-bers can no longer tolerate the nonchalant and greedy nature of the Speaker, adding that the former Speaker has up to six differ­ent financial cases with the EFCC and the members can­not continue to allow such indecent person to lead the House.

READ ALSO  19: Group drums support for Buhari re-election, Akinlade election as Ogun State Governor

She, therefore, said that five member committee chaired by Kabiru Adjoto repre­senting Akoko-Edo 1 will investigate the financial recklessness of the impeached Speaker from June 2015 till May 3rd.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *